Port Commission Welcomes a New Member and Elects New Executive Officers

Jan 19, 2016


Corpus Christi, TX, USA – On Tuesday, January 19, 2016, at the first regular meeting of the Port Corpus Christi Commission for 2016 W. Wes Hoskins was sworn in and welcomed as the new member of the Port Corpus Christi Commission representing San Patricio County, Texas. Mr. Hoskins was administered the Oath of Office by Nueces County Judge, Lloyd Neal. Additionally, Judge Neal administered the Oath of Office to Richard Ralph Valls, Jr. as he was re-appointed to his seat on the Commission by the City of Corpus Christi.

The San Patricio seat Mr. Hoskins is appointed to was formerly held by Commission Chair, Judy Hawley, and made available as she served the Commission through her term limit. Nueces County Appointee, Charles Zahn takes over as Chair; City of Corpus Christi Appointee, Wayne Squires Vice-Chair; and Nueces County Appointee, Barbara Canales retains her position as Secretary of the Port Corpus Christi Commission.

W. Wes Hoskins professional experience includes, Chairman of the Board for Coastal Bend Bancshares; President & CEO of First Community Bank; Director of First Community Bank; President of WBH, Inc. Commercial Real Estate Holdings Co.; and Auctioneer with Buddy and Wesley Hoskins Auctioneers. Civic and professional leadership roles include, Federal Reserve of San Antonio Advisory Board; Federal Home Loan Bank Dallas Board of Directors; American Bankers Association PAC Committee Chairman, Regulatory Task Force Committee, and Financial Education and Advocacy Initiative Committee; Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce Chairman, Board of Directors, and numerous committees; Texas Bankers Association Chairman, Board of Directors, and Texas Legislative Lobby; Corpus Christi Downtown Management District Board of Directors; and Gregory Portland Independent School District Trustee and Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioner Hoskins is a participant of numerous charitable organizations and events including, American Cancer Society Cattle Barons; South Texas Children’s Heart Institute; Driscoll Foundation/Fiesta de Los Niño’s; Navy League; Alice Chamber of Commerce; Gregory-Portland Booster Club Past Vice President and Trustee; City of Portland Traffic Advisory Committee; First United Methodist Church Portland Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair, Staff Parish Committee Chair; and the Alice, Texas Airport Advisory Committee. Wesley Hoskins is a graduate of Southwest Texas University with a Bachelor of Education in Communications and a Political Science Minor.

The Port Corpus Christi Authority is governed by a Port Commission composed of seven commissioners who serve without pay. Commissioners serve three year staggered terms. Three commissioners are appointed by the Corpus Christi City Council, the governing body of the City of Corpus Christi; three commissioners are appointed by the Nueces County Commissioners Court, the governing body of Nueces County; and one is appointed by the San Patricio County Commissioners Court. The executive staff, under the leadership of the executive director manages the operations of the Port Corpus Christi Authority and assists the Commission in planning for the future. Port Commission efforts are directed toward encouraging industrial expansion, attracting new cargo, building and maintaining public terminals, setting operational policy, and cooperating with the Federal Government as a local sponsor in maintaining and further improving vital navigation channels.

For more information, Contact:

Rosie Collin
Interim Director of Communications/
Director of Community Relations
Dir. Line: 361-885-6115

Download Full Press Release