New Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner Al Jones Sworn In

Feb 20, 2020


Corpus Christi, TX, USA – The Port of Corpus Christi Authority’s newest Commissioner was sworn in on Tuesday, February 18, 2020. Nueces County Judge Barbara Canales administered the Oath of Office. Jones fills the Commission seat left vacant by Wayne Squires. Jones will fulfill Squires’ remaining term, which will end on Dec. 31, 2020.

“We welcome Commissioner Jones and the breadth of knowledge and business acumen he will bring to the Port of Corpus Christi Commission. He is joining the team at an exciting time. The momentum is strong as we continue to set records in tonnage and grow our customer base. We, of course, honor all of the leaders who have delivered us to this point, and we look forward to this next chapter,” said Sean Strawbridge, Chief Executive Officer for the Port of Corpus Christi.

A longtime banking professional, Jones spent more than 45 years working for American Bank. He served as the bank’s original cashier when it opened in 1970 and later became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer before retiring in 2017. Jones attended the University of Texas at Austin—where he met his wife their freshman year in 1961—and currently serves on the Chancellor’s Council Executive Committee. Jones is an active board member for the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas – San Antonio branch as well as for the Corpus Christi Science and History Museum. Additionally, Jones is a director and former Chairman for the Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation.

“I am honored to return to a post for which I have always had the utmost respect. Truly, it is a privilege to join a team of folks who share the same vigor and commitment to our community, and I am humbled by the City of Corpus Christi and City Council for entrusting me with the responsibilities therein,” said Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner Al Jones.

“Commissioner Jones has a longtime history with the Port of Corpus Christi, and he brings a new perspective from the finance sector that we welcome enthusiastically,” said Charles W. Zahn, Jr., Port of Corpus Christi Commission Chairman.

The Port Commission governs the Port of Corpus Christi Authority and is composed of seven commissioners who serve without pay. Each commissioner serves a three-year staggered term. Three commissioners are appointed by the Corpus Christi City Council; three commissioners are appointed by the Nueces County Commissioners Court; and one is appointed by the San Patricio County Commissioners Court.

About Port Corpus Christi

As a leader in U.S. Crude Oil export ports and a major economic engine of Texas and the nation, Port Corpus Christi is the 3rd largest port in the United States in total revenue tonnage. Strategically located on the western Gulf of Mexico with a 36-mile, soon to be 54-foot (MLLW) deep channel, Port Corpus Christi is a major gateway to international and domestic maritime commerce. The Port has excellent railroad and highway network connectivity via three North American Class-1 railroads and two major interstate highways. With an outstanding staff overseen by its seven-member commission, Port Corpus Christi is “Moving America’s Energy.”


 • Join the Energy Port of the Americas on Social Media


Click for pdf of PCCA Press Release – New Commissioner Al Jones 02_20_2020