South Texas Waterways Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes

13:30, 14 October 2020

Meeting was held Zoom

*Below is a list of attendees that announced their name/ presence via Zoom.

Xavier Valverde	Michael Richardson	Belynda Kinman	Margaret Brown
John Pasch	Joey Franco	Gewyn Olson	David Browne
Toby Tschoepe	Danielle Hale	Manuel Santini	Edward Gaynor
Bobby Wingate	Dwayne McCullion	Paul Pepito	William Rogers
Robert Hawn	Michael Gonzalez	Kevin Jackson	Arip Ismael
Royce Clutter	Sascha	Matt Peterson	Tracy Cheramie
Kevin Miller	Kurt Hallier	Russell Cordo	Doug Salik
Chad Chambers	Adrian Wilson	Russell Pickering	Wes Turybury
Mike Stineman	Jalyn Stineman	Dan Koesema	Richard Ludwig
Cody Mulloy	Kevin Lenz	Kris Lamb	RJ Thomas
Mark Gutierrez	Jim Reardon	Joe Harrington	Larry Perryman
Mark McGinnis	Justin Grefe	Bob Paulison	Josh Macklin
Captain Dooley	Jay Rivera		

A. Call to order/opening remarks by chairman

At 1331 Chairman of STWAC, Mr. Xavier Valverde, called the meeting to order, the quorum is present. Mr. Valverde thanked all for attending.

B. Administration

At 1333 there a motion was made to approve the minutes from the July 16, 2020 meeting; the motion carried.

C. Coast Guard COTP Remarks

At 1334 CAPT Edward Gaynor, Captain of the Port, gave remarks. CAPT Gaynor thanked all for joining the virtual STWAC meeting, acknowledged efforts made during busy Hurricane Season, and thanked those involved in the Dredge Waymon Boyd incident.

Mr. Valverde introduced a new STWAC logo for consideration following CAPT Gaynor's remarks.

D. Presentations

At 1339 Mr. Dan Koesema from the Port of Corpus Christi gave a presentation on the Corpus Christi Ship Channel Improvement Project. The first phase including the portion of the contract which included a portion of the waterway from outside the jetties to Harbor Island

was completed earlier this year. The second phase of the contract was awarded in April 2020, and includes a portion of the waterway from Harbor Island to La Quinta Junction; this portion should be completed in the 4th quarter of 2021. The third contract is anticipated to be awarded in April 2021 and anticipated to be completed in the 1st quarter of 2023. The 4th contract is anticipated to be awarded in September 2021 with completion estimated to be in the 4th quarter of 2022. Several comments were received about including a segregated barge shelf, which will now be included in the design. There is also a feasibility study ongoing about deepening and widening of the La Quinta Channel.

At 1355 Mr. Kevin Miller presented information and progress from the Nominations Ad Hoc Committee presentation. Captain John Williams has volunteered to represent the Aransas Corpus Christi Pilots as a member of STWAC. Captain Joe Harrington has volunteered to be the Vice Chairperson of STWAC.

At 1402 Mr. Valverde presented on the results of the Ports and Waterways Safety Assessment (PAWSA) Workshop Report. Mitigation Strategies were established in the Report, and the Captain of the Port would like STWAC to consider evaluating and addressing the following:

- Reduce impacts from loss of propulsion casualties by establishing escort zone for deep draft vessels at Harbor Island and Ingleside.
- To improve vessel maneuverability, establish minimum vessel trim requirements for transiting the area.
- Reduce the probability of vessel allisions and collisions by having STWAC develop vessel transit reference/ guidance for commercial users, that includes areas requiring special attention
- To reduce the probability of vessel collisions, allisions and groundings, add another factor to the vessel meeting and movement Harbor Safety Committee guidelines.
- To enhance the ability of the waterway to safely manage traffic, establish one way traffic windows throughout the entirety of the commercial channel.

E. Committee Reports

At 1419 Mr. Russell Cordo gave a presentation on the Vessel Movement Committee and noted that despite 2020 being a tumultuous year in other regards, the Port of Corpus Christi continues to progress successfully.

At 1422 LCDR Margaret Brown gave a presentation on the Waterway Suitability Advisory Committee. LCDR Brown noted that the Committee has not met in at least two years, she solicited participation for an upcoming WSA meeting. LCDR Brown noted that per the STWAC Charter, the ACC Pilots are the Chairperson of the Committee, but CG will facilitate the meetings.

At 1425 Ms. Danielle Hale gave a presentation on the Marine Firefighting Committee. Ms. Hale discussed the Hotwash from the Dredge Waymon Boyd incident, and noted that there was great collaboration. Ms. Hale also noted the success of the Marine Firefighting

Committee developing training, and that the Committee has not met in person since February because of COVID-19.

F. Old Business

At 1428 Mr. Valverde asked for an update on the Choke Point & Communicating Situational Awareness Working Group. Mr. Kris Lamb said that the following choke points were identified: Buckeye 1, 2, 3 when ships are on the dock, Docks 11, 7, 4 in the Industrial Canal, the Harbor Bridge, and Epic Dock to Bulk Dock #2. Captain Dooley from the ACC Pilots recommended looking at it further in a Brownwater/ Bluewater Symposium.

At 1436 LCDR Brown requested as early as possible notification on any impacts, channel closure requests, safety zone requests (such as for dredging).

At 1438 Mr. Valverde asked for any input on a proposed 2020 Brown Water/Blue Water Symposium.

G. New Business

At 1440 Mr. Valverde announced consideration and action on a August 2020 Suezmax Port Memo to Pilot Commissioners regarding an extension of the temporary exemption for LNGC class vessels and a one year extension of the temporary exemption for Suezmax class vessels. Mr. Cordo clarified that there was an error in the Pilot Commissioners meeting notes that a vote was taken at the last STWAC meeting regarding this issue, however no action was taken and Mr. Cordo recommends no further action. A motion was made to do no further action and the motion failed. A motion was made and seconded to correct the Port Commissioners meeting notes and passed 10-3.

At 1455 LCDR Margaret Brown announced the names of personnel requesting membership consideration: Mr. Michael Kolomaznik from Gulf Sunrise Agency; Mr. Joel Salzman from ADM; Mr. Manuel Santini from ADM; Mr. Royce Clutter from Suderman and Young Towing; Mr. Keith Clark from Edward Jones, Mr. Kevin Jackson from Occidental Chemical. A motion was made and all membership applications were approved.

At 1458 a nomination was made and approved to nominate Captain Harrington for the Vice Chairman position.

At 1500 a nomination was made and approved to nominate Mr. Chambers to the Steering Committee.

At 1502 a motion was made and approved to disestablish the Ad-Hoc Nominations Committee.

No action was taken on identifying the choke points within the Port.

No action was taken on developing a process for communicating situational awareness for vessel movements.

At 1504 a motion was made and approved to establish an Ad-Hoc Committee to evaluate the Mitigation Strategies that were identified on the PAWSA report. Chad Chambers will chair the ad-hoc committee.

At 1515 a motion was made and approved to recommend to the Pilot Board adopt a permanent rule change for LNGC transits on the Corpus Christi Ship Channel.

G. Adjourn

At 1526 the meeting was adjourned by Mr. Valverde.

