

- NEWS RELEASE -

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

## Port of Corpus Christi Commission Names New Officers, Welcomes New Commissioners Sworn in by Nueces County Judge

**Corpus Christi, TX, USA** – The Port of Corpus Christi Commission named new officers and announced two new Commissioners who took their oaths of office, administered by Nueces County Judge Connie Scott, at the Congressman Solomon P. Ortiz International Center during the governing body's first meeting of the new year.

Commissioners Michael Pedrotti and Tony LaMantia were appointed by the Nueces County Commissioners Court at its December 13 meeting, replacing Charles W. Zahn Jr. and Dr. Bryan Gulley on the Port of Corpus Christi Commission.

LaMantia is the co-owner and Chief Operating Officer for L&F Distributors. He has also served on a number of boards for community organizations in the Coastal Bend, including the U.S.S. Lexington Board of Directors, Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation and the John G. and Marie Stella Kenedy Foundation. LaMantia is also one of the founders of the Stars Scholarship Fund, which has awarded more than 25,000 scholarships to South Texas students.

"I am grateful for the opportunity to serve the Coastal Bend as a Port Commissioner," said **Tony LaMantia**, **Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner**. "I look forward to working with the other members of the Port Commission to expand on the milestones achieved by this great institution and its customers, who have brought thousands of new jobs and new tax revenue to the region."

Pedrotti has nearly 40 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, currently serving as Chief Executive Officer of Texegy Royalty LLC. His community service includes but is not limited to serving on the Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation Board of Directors, the Coastal Conservation Association and the Texas Independent Producers & Royalty Owners Association.

"The Port of Corpus Christi is a vital economic engine for our region, the state and the nation," said **Michael Pedrotti, Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner**. "I am honored to have the chance to do what I can to further cement the Port of Corpus Christi and this region's role as a leader in global energy exports, while strengthening our partnerships with the communities we serve to further the Port's initiatives in environmental stewardship."

At the January 2024 Port Commission meeting, Commissioners also welcomed back Commissioner Rajan Ahuja, who was reappointed for a second consecutive three-year term by the City of Corpus Christi.

"I am honored to have been granted another term on the Port of Corpus Christi Commission and look forward to working with my fellow commissioners to continue the unprecedented growth that has taken place over the past few years," said **Rajan Ahuja**, **Port of Corpus Christi Commissioner**.

• Join <u>the</u> Energy Port of the Americas on Social Media •



David Engel, who was first appointed to the Port Commission by the Corpus Christi City Council in 2013, was named as the new Chairman at the January Port Commission meeting. Commissioners Wes Hoskins and Gabe Guerra were also appointed to serve as vice-chair and secretary, respectively, for the year. Hoskins is an appointee of the San Patricio County Commissioners Court, while Guerra is an appointee of the City of Corpus Christi.

"I am humbled to have been selected by my fellow commissioners to serve as Chairman of the Port of Corpus Christi Commission," said **David Engel, the newly elected Port Commission Chairman**. "I truly believe that the best days for the Port of Corpus Christi, its customers and this region lie ahead, and I am grateful to have the opportunity to do my part to make that a reality."

The Port Commission governs the Port of Corpus Christi Authority and is composed of seven commissioners who serve without pay. Each commissioner serves a three-year staggered term. Three commissioners are appointed by the Corpus Christi City Council; three commissioners are appointed by the Nueces County Commissioners Court; and one is appointed by the San Patricio County Commissioners Court.

"On behalf of Port of Corpus Christi staff and the executive leadership team, I extend a hearty welcome to Commissioners LaMantia and Pedrotti to the Port Commission, and I congratulate Commissioner Ahuja on his reappointment," said **Kent Britton, Chief Executive Officer for the Port of Corpus Christi.** "We stand ready to work closely with our Port Commissioners to meet the needs of our strong and growing customer base and ensure continued success for this region in the years to come."

## About Port Corpus Christi

As a leader in U.S. energy export ports and a major economic engine of Texas and the nation, the Port of Corpus Christi is the largest port in the United States in total revenue tonnage. Strategically located on the western Gulf of Mexico with a 36-mile, soon to be 54-foot (MLLW) deep channel, the Port of Corpus Christi is a major gateway to international and domestic maritime commerce. The Port of Corpus Christi has excellent railroad and highway network connectivity via three North American Class-1 railroads and two major interstate highways. With an outstanding staff overseen by its sevenmember commission, the Port of Corpus Christi is "Moving America's Energy." For more information about the Port of Corpus Christi, visit <u>www.portofcc.com</u>.

• Join <u>the</u> Energy Port of the Americas on Social Media •

